The Founders Award

Nominations Sought for Founders Award

The Founders Award was established by the Central States Conference on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (CSCTFL) in 1986 to honor its founders, including the fourteen original Board Members: Jermaine D. Arendt, Jacqueline Elliott, Percy Fearing, Anthony Gradisnik, Frank Grittner, Gilbert Kettelkamp, Charles Kirk, Wallace Magoon, Barbara Ort, J. Henry Owens, Richard Payne, J. Thomas Shaw, Lorraine Strasheim, and Albert Turner. It was first awarded in 1988.

The award may be conferred annually on an individual or group from within the language teaching profession. Current or retired members of the profession may be nominated for the award.

Nominees for the award should exemplify the following qualifications:

•     excellence in the promotion of language learning and international studies
•     leadership in the language teaching profession as exemplified by the founders of the CSCTFL.
•     strong ties with one or more of the fourteen Central States
•     professional dedication and enthusiasm

Nominations of a group or organization should include the primary goals of the organization, the relevance of the goals to the profession, a history of the accomplishments of the group or organization, the sphere of influence of the group, the nominator's professional relationship to the group, a resume of the group's director or leader, and support documentation that bears direct relevance to the nominations.

Nominations of an individual should include the candidate's present position and role in the foreign language profession; the ways in which the candidate meets the specific criteria for the award, including significant contributions to CSCTFL over the years; the capacity in which the nominator has known the candidate; the candidate's current curriculum vitae; and support documentation that bears direct relevance to the nomination.

Nominations for the award must be submitted by members of the Central States Conference Advisory Council. Support documentation should not exceed ten pages. Nominations should be submitted electronically to: 

Martha Halemba

Applications must be received by December 15, 2017, for consideration. 


2017 Founders Award Winner

2016 Founders Award Winner

2015 Founders Award Winner

2014 Founders Award Winner

2013 Founders Award Winner

2012 Founders Award Winner

2011 Founders Award Winner